Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

It’s an honour to have been shortlisted for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize 2015 – 2016 for YEN.

The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize was established in 1978 and is given annually to recognise women who have written outstanding plays for the English-speaking theatre. The Prize is administered in Houston, London and New York. The Prize currently awards  $25,000 to the winner and $5000 to each ten finalists on the shortlist. Each year, a specified list of professional theatres throughout the English-speaking world is invited to submit plays for consideration. Previous winners include Jennifer Haley, Annie Baker and Lucy Kirkwood. This years winner was Lynne Nottage for her play Sweat. You can view the shortlist in full here.